News & Events

Student Voices

Colleen McCarthy

Colleen McCarthy
Hometown: Chantilly, Virginia
Major: Bachelor of Applied Science (BASc), Criminal Justice and Homeland Security

read more >

Home > News > McGeorge Professor McCaffrey to Receive Elisabeth Haub Award
  • Print
  • Share
  • Questions
Stephen McCaffrey receives the 2018 Elisabeth Haub Award for Environmental Law and Diplomacy for his life-time of service in the development of international environmental law.

McGeorge Distinguished Professor of Law Stephen McCaffrey receives the 2018 Elisabeth Haub Award for Environmental Law and Diplomacy for his life-time of service in the development of international environmental law.

McGeorge Professor McCaffrey to Receive Distinguished Elisabeth Haub Award

May 16, 2018

Tags: Home Page, Business & Community, Centers of Distinction, Global Center, Advocacy Center, Faculty & Scholarship, Press Release, LL.M. & J.S.D. News, 2018

University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law's Distinguished Professor of Law Stephen McCaffrey has been announced as the 2018 recipient of the Distinguished Elisabeth Haub Award for Environmental Law and Diplomacy, both for his life-time of service in the development of international environmental law, and in particular for his work as special rapporteur for the International Law Commission on what became the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Non-Navigational Uses of International Watercourses. The award is bestowed by Pace University's Elisabeth Haub School of Law (Pace Law) andwill be conferred by Pace University President Marvin Krislov at a ceremony on May 24. 

Professor McCaffrey is one of the world's foremost respected authorities on international water law. He was named 2017 Stockholm Water Prize Laureate for his unparalleled contribution to the evolution and progressive realization of international water law. On the McGeorge faculty since 1977, his work continues to influence scholars, legal practitioners and policy-makers and contribute to the sustainable and peaceful management of shared waters.

By recognizing Professor McCaffrey, Pace Law is recognizing his work to forge the world's first treaty open to all countries to protect the ecology of international rivers and lakes. This binding agreement is the product of many years of careful negotiation through the International Law Commission of the United Nations. The ILC was established under the UN Charter in 1947 to codify and advance international law. It is celebrating its 70th anniversary in New York, with meetings held for the first time at UN headquarters. The ILC customarily convenes in Geneva, Switzerland.

Professor McCaffrey served on the ILC for ten years during President Reagan's and George H.W. Bush's terms, and was the ILC's special rapporteur for its work on international watercourses.  The ILC's work led to the adoption of the UN Watercourses Convention, a treaty that calls for all nations sharing fresh water to protect environmental resources upon which all depend. McCaffrey is currently Distinguished Professor of Law at McGeorge School of Law at the University of the Pacific in California.

Professor McCaffrey joins past luminaries such as Russel Train (USA) and Klaus Töpfer (Germany) and Hilario Davide, Jr., (Philippines). This year's award ceremony is also a recognition of the seven decades of positive accomplishments by the ILC. Pace Law joins with the International Council of Environmental Law (ICEL), and the World Commission on Environmental Law of the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN), in honoring the members of the ILC.

The Dean of the Elisabeth Haub School of Law, Prof. Horace Anderson, said: "Protecting the waters that flow across borders is a cause all nations support. We are honored to join with the family of Elisabeth Haub in applauding the Members of the UN International Law Commission, and our fellow law professor Stephen McCaffrey, on their singular accomplishments in developing international environmental law."

Professor McCaffrey has observed that "It is essential, in the era of climate change and the associated uncertainties concerning the sharing by countries of freshwater resources, that there be a stable and universally accepted legal framework governing the relations between riparian States.  The UN Watercourses Convention provides such a framework, helping to ensure sustainable management of Earth's freshwater resources to preserve them for future generations."

The Distinguished Elisabeth Haub Award for Environmental Law and Diplomacy recognizes the innovation, skill, and accomplishments of lawyers, diplomats, international civil servants and other negotiators who work to create the world environmental order. Past recipients include Ambassador Luis Alberto Figueiredo Machado from Brazil, Macharia Kamau from Kenya, Mohamed Sahnoun from Algeria, Hilario Davide, Jr. from the Phillipines and Klaus Topfer from Germany.