News & Events

Home > News > Coif Adds 31 New Flavors From Class of 2010
  • Print
  • Share
  • Questions
Shelby Gatlin, Jennie Bretschneider and James Houston

Three outstanding members of the Evening Division were among inductees to the Order of the Coif

They are, from left, Shelby Gatlin, Jennie Bretschneider and James Houston.

Coif Adds 31 New Flavors From Class of 2010

May 17, 2010

Tags: Student Life, 2010

The McGeorge chapter of the Order of the Coif inducted 31 members of the Class of 2010 into its honors organization at an on-campus banquet on May 14, 2010.

Professor Thom Main, the chapter president, emceed the event that featured Curtis Child, ’84, director of the office of governmental affairs for the Judicial Council of California’s Administrative Office of the Courts.

“Always look for opportunities and don’t be afraid to step through open doors as you advance through your career,” Child said. He also urged the new inductees to make pro bono service a part of their profession and “make every effort to promote the public’s confidence” in the justice system.

It was the 28 th annual Order of the Coif Congratulatory Luncheon for McGeorge, which holds the 59 th chapter in the 81-law school honorary society. Other schools that boast chapters in the Order include Yale, Emory, Stanford and the University of Chicago. New graduates must have finished in the top 10 percent of their classes to qualify for election to membership.

Professor Clark Kelso, secretary/treasurer of the McGeorge chapter, introduced the new members. They include:

Aaron Bergman
Andrew Bernick
Jennie Bretschneider
Christopher Cavagnaro
Ronald Darbee
Emily Foehr
Shelby Gatlin
Boryana Georgieva
TeriAnn Grimes
Rebekah Grodsky
Evelyn Grosenick
Stephanie Hartung
Jeremy Hendrix
Emily Hirsekorn
James Houston
Caitlin Howard

Frank W. Jackson
Jared Laiti
Mayling Leong
Samuel Levy
Adam Link
Andrea Logue
Robert Lopez
Jennifer Marsh
Kevin McKinley
Courtney Przybylski
Corin Saxton
Craig Tomlins
Daniel Vandekoolwyk
David Wiksell
Grant Zehnder