Faculty & Scholarship

Home > Faculty & Scholarship > Faculty Scholarship > Faculty Honors & Awards
  • Print
  • Share
  • Questions
John Myers

Honors & Awards

McGeorge faculty are often recognized for their scholarly service to the profession and communities around the globe. The following awards highlight a commitment to excellence and honors received from internal and external peers and well-regarded associations and organizations.

  • Michael Malloy was honored by publisher Wolters Kluwer, at the AALS Convention on Jan. 4, 2013, in New Orleans, with a plaque marking the 25th anniversary of his publication that has evolved into a three-volume treatise, Banking Law and Regulation.
  • Joe Taylor was honored and recognized by the Supreme Court of California and the State Bar of California on Oct. 1, 2012, for 50 years of service as an active member of the State Bar.
  • Raquel Aldana received the Community Service Award for her work with the Inter-American program and the citizenship fairs at the 25th Annual Unity Bar Dinner on Oct. 25, 2012, in Sacramento.
  • Jerry Caplan received a “Certificate of Appreciation” from the California Department of Managed Health Care on Oct. 5, 2012, for his work this year as a member of the California Legislature’s Autism Advisory Task Force.
  • Frank Gevurtz was elected an associate member of the International Academy of Comparative Law on June 1. Members of the Paris-based organization are elected exclusively in consideration of their academic and scholarly contributions to comparative law.
  • Raquel Aldana was selected as one of the 2012 National TRIO Achievers and will receive her award in September at the Council for Opportunity in Education's 31st Annual Conference.
  • Jarrod Wong has been chosen to co-chair the Institute for Transnational Arbitration's 2013 Winter Forum Conference, which will be held in January in Miami.
  • Steve McCaffrey was elected to serve as the American regional governor of the International Council of Environmental Law on May 25 by the members of ICEL from North America.
  • Mike Mireles received the Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Award, and Courtney Lee received the Podesto Award for Excellence in Student Life, Mentioning and Counseling on May 4 at the Faith Davies All University Leadership Award ceremony luncheon in Stockton.
  • Elizabeth Rindskopf Parker was named Public Administrator of the Year by the American Society of Public Administration, Sacramento Chapter, for her outstanding contributions to the community on May 2 at the organization's awards dinner in Sacramento.
  • Cary Bricker and John Sprankling received "Professor of the Year" awards on May 10 from the McGeorge Student Bar Association. Sprankling was cited for his work in the Day Division while Cary was honored by the Evening Division.
  • Raquel Aldana received the MEChA (Movimiento Estudiantil Chicano/a de Aztlan) Award on April 2 from that University of the Pacific student group honoring her community service.

More Awards

American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children — William Friedrich Memorial Award

  • 2009 — John E.B. Myers

John G. Sprankling Faculty Scholarship Award

The John G. Sprankling Faculty Scholarship Award was established in appreciation of Professor Sprankling's dedicated service to McGeorge as Interim Dean and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs from 2000 to 2005 and his steadfast commitment and contribution to legal scholarship. The John G. Sprankling Faculty Scholarship Award is conferred upon the tenured or tenure-track member of the McGeorge faculty who has made a significant contribution to legal scholarship in published work, or works, during one academic year.

  • 2013 — Kojo Yelpaala
  • 2012 — Frank Gevurtz, Brian Slocum (co-winners)
  • 2011 — Thom Main
  • 2010 — Miriam Cherry, Jarrod Wong (co-winners)
  • 2009 — Emily Garcia Uhrig
  • 2008 — Julie Davies
  • 2007 — Brian Landsberg
  • 2006 — Thom Main
  • 2005 — John Sprankling

Samsung-Stanford Patent Competition

Samsung-Stanford Patent Prizes are co-sponsored by Samsung Electronics and Stanford Law School to encourage research on patent remedies. The committee selected Professor Amy Landers' proposal for a paper on patent damages in which she argues that when awarding damages the fact finder should tailor compensation to the patentee's actual contribution to the field, rather than the patent claim as a whole. In addition to a cash prize award, Amy participated in a conference on the subject of patent damages at Stanford Law School on Feb. 18, 2011.

  • 2010 — Amy Landers

University of the Pacific Podesto Award

The Podesto Award is one of the Faith Davies All University Leadership Awards given each year by the University of the Pacific. The Podesto Award recognizes outstanding educators who directly touch and enrich the lives of Pacific students.

  • 2012 — Courtney Lee
  • 2011 — Linda Carter
  • 2010 — Ed Telfeyan, '75
  • 2009 — Thom Main
  • 2008 — Julie Davies